New ‘Sharing’ controls on Facebook

After an official announcement on Facebook blog, they finally launched this new sharing controls i.e new controls for you when you share a status, photo, video or location. Let’s see what are these new controls.

Check out the screenshot of the new sharing controls, we will discuss each of them.

sharing control

  1. This is a new button using which you can tag your friends with your status. It’s just like you used to check-in to places and tag your friends without using any @ before the name. The good thing about this feature is that you can also tag your friends while sharing a pic or video along with a status. Also it’s much easier to tag people this way.
  2. The second new feature is to add your location with your status just like twitter does. You can select a default location like my location is written on the right of that button i.e “New Delhi”. You can change it anytime by clicking that location button again.
  3. Same feature of sharing status or photo with some people from your friend list or hiding it with few people or even sharing it with everyone on Facebook. But it’s with a little change here, the only thing they added is a line which says: “Note: anyone tagged and their friends can also see this post.
  4. Now there’s a common button for sharing photos and videos. Just click on “Add photo” for that and it will allow you to browse and upload a video as well.

Stay connected for more Facebook updates, tips and tricks. πŸ™‚

9 Replies to “New ‘Sharing’ controls on Facebook”

  1. Hei, I messed up sth… I changed my profile pic (by mistake) – I had to crop it and now I have two THE SAME pics!! One is “old one” with likes and comments and this one before 1 hour is “new” one, but the same pic so I have two the same pics now. I know this is retarded but I don’t want to delete that one with likes and comments. πŸ™‚
    Do you have any idea how to do sth? πŸ™‚
    THX!

      1. LOL, as I said – when I wanted to put my old pic for profile pic, I had to crop it, so now, I have 2 the same pics. Anyway, I’ll put some new and that’s it. πŸ™‚

        NEW QUESTION: My wall is customise on “friends” and “hide from”… BUT all those ppl that are not allowed to see my wall, they still can see it!!! Even if I put my wall on “only me”, all of my friends still can see it.
        Any advice?? Thx!

        1. We if you were using the older pic as ur profile pic (with likes n comments) it must be in the album “Profile pictures”. When u select a new profile pic from that album then it will not ask you to crop the pic again. πŸ™‚

          Second Question: I think you are using lists and some friends are there in more than one list.

      2. I know – I went on my “Profile” album, click on the pic, then “make this my profile pic” and then I had to crop it. I did that few days ago so now I have two the same pics. Anyway, I don’t care that much… Maybe you should try to do that, so you would believe me? πŸ™‚
        SECOND: No, I have only 3 lists for chat, that’s it. For example, my boss is nowhere but I still can’t hide the wall from her. Then I customized my wall on “Only me” but STILL everyone (of my friends) can see it!!

  2. I’m kind of confused about this new tagging. I understand tagging my own posts OK, that is fine, but I notice that in other peoples posts there is the same icon and I can mouse over it and see who they’ve chosen to share with. I DON’T want my friends to see who I’ve shared a post with. Sometimes i want to make a custom share and leave a couple of friends out, but i don’t want my other friends to see I’ve left people out, if you know what I mean?

    In other words, once I’ve posted, can the friends I’ve let see my post also see who I’ve left out? eg, when others mouseover will it say “All friends; except Pete”. I DON’T want people to see this info… If they can tyhen it sucks.

Comments are closed.