All about deleting messages from your Facebook inbox

Most of the time people ask questions about Facebook messages like how to delete a particular message from a conversation or what happens when we delete a particular message from that conversation, will it be deleted from the receiver’s inbox as well? This post will give answers to all your queries.

1. What’s the difference between new Facebook chat and Facebook messages?

In a recent change in Facebook’s chat and it’s previously launched ‘Facebook mails’, Facebook integrated both Chat and inbox messages. With this new integration, all your messages can be seen on chat as well or you can chat in your inbox. While the ‘Facebook Chat’ is online way of interacting with your friends, ‘Facebook Messages’ is the offline one. Now you can type a message in the chat window of an offline friend and send it to his/her inbox directly.

2. How to delete a particular message from the Facebook inbox?

With the new inbox, you have an option of deleting a particular or few messages from the whole conversation. To do so, open any Facebook conversation in your inbox and click “Actions” on the top of that page. From the drop down list select “Delete Messages” and check the box given with every message you’ve sent or received. After that, click ‘delete selected’ as shown below.

fb msgs-1

3. What happens when I delete a message from my inbox? Will it be deleted from reciever’s inbox as well?

Well no, whenever you delete a message from your inbox after sending it, it won’t be deleted from the receiver’s inbox. Just consider it like Outbox of your cell phone’s SMS. After sending a SMS you can delete a message from your outbox but not from others inbox.

4. How to delete a Facebook message from friend’s (receiver) inbox?

Clearly it’s not possible to delete a message from receiver’s inbox once it’s sent. You can delete that message only if you know the password of his/her account. ;)

Have more questions? Drop a comment below. :)

 

No related posts.

25 Comments…

 Share your views
  1. Whats that Archieve option do ?

  2. i am not getting the delete option at the bottom of my page now. I get a yellow bar across my screen. Select delete and that is it. They don’t delete. ????

  3. How can we look back at our Archived messages?

  4. I’ve deleted my friend’s message, how to bring it back? any way?

  5. Is there anyway to retrieve deleted messages? my girlfriend has been showing me some messages i had deleted long time ago. She says she has a “way” to see them even tho I deleted them. she read me the exact same messages as I had written. How is this possible

  6. I want to delete messages I sent to someone. If I delete that person as a friend, will old messages from me be deleted from his inbox?

  7. how to delete several conversations at a go??

  8. i want to delete all my inbox messages from all of my friends who sent me messages….. the thing is i have tons of messages form almost 400 friends…. how can i delete them all at once….

  9. Would the other person see the messages even tho we deleted it?

  10. I mistakenly sent a message to my friend on facebook. Now i wish to delete that message in a way that she can not see it. is that possible? through anyway?

  11. Spamming a conversation with someone? does that enable us to not see the messages? If i spam my conversation with friend, will she still be able to see it?

  12. i want to delete all my face book message at once time, every singly its take me so much time
    can u hlep me

  13. I want to delete all the messages in my inboxs

  14. after deleting my facebook account , will my messages get deleted from other peoples inboxes ????????????/

  15. Is there anyway I can delete a message from my contact’s inbox? I accidentally sent something I shouldn’t have and I want it gone from their inbox.

  16. I want to delete all my facebook inbox msgs at once ?? please help!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

*