Undo send with Gmail for avoiding sending emails you might regret!
Here is a scenario. You have an argument with your boss and you really lost your cool. You went home had a couple of beers and wrote down an email to your boss telling him exactly what you felt about him in a very colorful language. Now after clicking on ‘Send’ you get this sinking feeling. You wish you could go back 10 seconds and avoid sending that email.
I bet some developers at **Gmail **did this quite often and hence decided to create ‘Undo Send’. It is one of my favorite now since Gmail allowed multiple account sign-in.
How to get Undo Send with Gmail?
- This option still a beta feature with Gmail **and hence is available with **Gmail Labs. Just click on **Settings **on the right hand top corner and then look up the **Labs **tab.
- Here look up Undo Send **and select **Enable. Save the changes at the bottom of the **Labs **page.
- Visit the **General **tabs **settings **and define the amount of time you want before which you can cancel an email. The most time allowed is 30 seconds.
How to Undo a mail?
Okay, once you have sent a mail there is an option to undo it highlighted in red at the top. Click on it immediately and then mail is not send. 😉
Use this feature to avoid sending emails which to wrong recipients or incase you have written something you wish you had not. But Undo Send **should be used as absolute last resort. From a professional point of view think before you click on **send.