The commenting feature in Google Reader was enabled a couple of months back. By enabling this feature you can:
- Comment on any item you’ve shared with your friends, or any item your friends have shared with you.
- Write and keep track of all the comments (from the “comment view” section)
To further improvise this, Google introduced some changes today, to the ‘comments’ section’ in Google Reader.
You often read comments by people you don’t even know on your friends shared items and end up wondering who they are. But now you could stop wondering! That’s right, Google’s got good news.
By simply hovering your mouse over the name of the commenter, you could see the person’s profile picture, plus the links shared on their Google Profile. You could also share your links with that person by clicking on the “start sharing” button. Whenever the person logs in next, will also see an option to view your shared items. If they choose to start sharing items back, you have a new friend added to your list.
Controlling your privacy
- You could stop sharing your items at any point by going to the Sharing settings link in your left sidebar.
- Your shared items will be visible to other people only with your consent.
I’d say, not really the perfect way to know who your friend’s friends are. However, works well to subdue your initial curiosity.
(Source: Google blog)
(Image Credits: Google blog)