After the launch of Facebook Reconnecting feature, there were thousands of Tweets on Twitter (click here to see) regarding Facebook suggestion of “reconnect with friends” as it was recommending people to reconnect even with those people who are no more. 🙁 But within two days of the launch of this feature, they have fixed this with a very good alternative of it.
Now you can put the profiles of your friends or relatives in “Memorized” profiles who are no longer with you. By putting a profile into “Memorized” you will no longer be able to see their profiles in suggestions or reconnecting sections. To put anybody in “Memorized” profiles, use this contact form and fill the required information.
If someone’s profile is listed as “Memorized”, his profile will no longer can be found on search results and only confirmed friends will be able to view his profile and write on his wall as remembrance.
This update on Facebook’s official blog was written by Max Kelly who has a real life experience of his colleague’s death. He added that,
As time passes, the sting of losing someone you care about also fades but it never goes away. I still visit my friend’s memorialized profile to remember the good times we had and share them with our mutual friends.
(via Facebook Official Blog)