Almost everyone reading this might have their own favorite YouTube channels and videos. As a blogger I sometimes create videos of certain features I am covering so readers can get a better perspective. Obviously all these videos are listed publicly and available for anyone to view even without the need to sign-in to their YouTube account.
Personal videos taken of friends and family function can also be shared by having these videos saved as Private and allowing only certain YouTube accounts to view it. What happens if there is friend who wants to see a private video but does not have a YouTube account?
Google now has a third option which is videos can now be saved as unlisted.
- The new feature will now not list the video in any search or channel.
- It will not show up as video under your account either unless you own that account.
- All someone needs to view the video is get the URL of the video. With only the link someone view the video. So it restricts viewing to only people who know the url of the video. 😉
YouTube has really ratcheted up its design and features to allow for better sharing and viewing of videos. This one feature will make people use it more often for personal videos. So what do you think about unlisted videos? Will you be using them? Do drop in your comments.